Vancouver Island Areas

by Female Abroad

There are seven regions that make up the communities of Vancouver Island, with a substantial variety of activists, experiences, and adventures available:

North Island

Comprised of the communities north of Sayward including Port McNeil, Port Alice, Port Hardy, and Telegraph Cove as well as Knight Inlet and River Inlet in the Broughton Archipelago

North Central Island

From Buckley Bay to just south of Sayward and home to Quadra Island, Courtenay, Comox, and Campbell River, with a western edge that include Friendly Cove and Tahsis

Central Island

Strechting from Nanaimo to Fanny Bay in the north and Cathedral Grove to the west, in this region is Qualicum Beach, Parksville, Coombs, and Lantzville

Pacific Rim

On the western side of the Island is Tofino, Ucluelet, Port Alberti, and Bamfield


The Cowichan alley encompasses Ladysmith, Chemainus, Lake Cowichan, Youbou, Duncan, and Mill Bay

Gulf Islands

The southern Gulf islands include Pender, Galiano, Gabriela, Saturn’s, and Mayne as well as Salt Spring Island’s communities of Fulford Harbour and Ganges

South Island

This region includes the thirteen communities that make up Greater Victoria as well as Port Renfrew and Jordan River